I’ve always wondered what to do with my 2iC.
I mean it’s always a nice looking figure, but it doesn’t seem to do that much. In the past, I’ve let him take some of my HQ’s sappers off to cause trouble or patted him on the head and put him in charge of some 45mm AT guns to cover a flank.
But now I think I’m clear what I can do with him at least. After reading the rules, here’s what I understand (and correct me if I’m wrong): in v.3 he just got bigger. Much bigger. A myopic Super Man!
Here’s how. The 2iC is a Command and Warrior team (pages 13 and 68).
As a Warrior Team, he isn’t part of platoon and can move independently whilst being able to be deployed any where in your Deployment Area.
JOINING PLATOONS: As a Warrior, he may join friendly platoons at any time in either player’s turn. A Warrior team can join one friendly platoon [within their own company – not Allied] within Command Distance in each Step (Movement, Shooting and/or Assault). Once Joined, he may remain Joined until the end of the Step, at which point he can automatically leave the platoon.
JOINING OTHER WARRIORS: As a Warrior team he can form an ad hoc platoon: A Warrior team can Join any friendly Independent teams and Warrior teams within Command Distance.
WHO’S IN CHARGE?: When a Warrior Command team joins a platoon that does not have a Platoon Command team, they become the Platoon’s Command team…
COMMAND LEADERSHIP: The 2iC cannot re-roll failed Motivation Tests and, unless the Warrior’s special rules say otherwise, platoons under their command use their own Motivation rating.
WARRIOR CASUALTIES: A Warrior team is only destroyed by shooting or assault on a roll of 4+, otherwise he can be swapped for another team of the same type within Command Distance (indestructible, just like Capt. Scarlet!!)
WARRIORS FIGHT ON ALONE: If the sole surviving Infantry team is a Warrior team, it does not need to take a Motivation Test.
And there’s more:
- As a Warrior, the 2iC cannot be Pinned Down except while they have joined a platoon BUT can leave this platoon to join another at the end of the Step (page. 104).
- At the start of the Assault Step, he can Join a leaderless platoon to enable it to assault and charge into contact (pages 143-4).
- As a Warrior, he may assault alone (page 169 – BANZAI!!!!!)
- Unarmoured vehicles that are Warriors, including Recce teams save on a 3+ (page 99).
There are few disadvantages to being a Warrior.
Warrior teams don’t count when determining if a platoon has more teams Destroyed than still fighting. However, if he’s destroyed whilst attached to a platoon that already has more teams Destroyed than still fighting he triggers a Platoon Morale Check.
If he’s not a permanent part of a platoon, he cannot be held in Ambush (page 267)
But, despite being a veritable Super Man, just like Clark Kent your 2iC can be a little short-sighted. As a Warrior Team, he cannot limit an Infiltrating or Recce team’s movement in any way and cannot detect the former.
Now has anyone got any suggestions for the tactical use of these guys? I’m thinking assaults…?